Print this Page

About Us

Prior to 1890, Highland Springs was a rural area. It was an area of small farms that had been carved from plantations that existed before the Civil War. A winding country road bisected the area. In 1905, the one-room schoolhouse located there sheltered 27 students in grades 1 through 6. The Town of Highland Springs was named from the high elevation and number of springs in the area and was a planned community. The current elementary school is located in the Varina district.

And on to a little school trivia…

School name: Highland Springs Elementary School
Year Opened: 1966
Floor/Area Square-Footage: 67,063
Number of Buildings; Number of Stories: 1 One-Story Building
Program Capacity/Maximum Enrollment: 634 students
Number of Classrooms: 33
Site Acreage: 22.5
School Colors: Red and Black
School Mascot: Scottie Dog
Grade Levels: Pre-Kindergarten – Grade 5
Unique Programs: Watch D.O.G.S. (Dads of Great Students); Pleasant Street Players

Permanent link to this article: https://highlandspringses.henricoschools.us/about-us/